I Miss You Rick Wright

Two years ago today, keyboard player Rick Wright died. You may remember him from a little band called Pink Floyd, my favorite band of all time.

Rick doesn’t seem to get the recognition he deserves, and being in a band with Waters and Gilmour doesn’t help, but his musical contributions are astounding and Floyd wouldn’t have been the same without him.

In 1979 I was deep into punk rock, every weekend I would take the train up into Camden to go to the market and find rare singles and bootlegs by the Clash, X-Ray Spex, 999, etc., my punk rock ethos was cemented in concrete and nothing was going to dislodge that. Then I heard The Wall and everything changed. For a kid growing up in England at that time it was as if someone had written and recorded the soundtrack to my life, which if you think about it is kinda fucking sad.

So here we are 31 years later and it’s still my favorite album of all time, it always speaks to me, and the musicianship is beyond compare. So I thought I would repost the second set of demos to The Wall in all their glory for you guys to download. These are all studio recordings of the entire album, some similar to the finished version, but most not, it’s fascinating to me to see how the album took shape.

Pass these around, play them to your kids, and most of all let’s thank Rick Wright for his musical genius today.

Download The Wall demos here.

5 thoughts on “I Miss You Rick Wright

  1. I gave up. It’s making me jump thru hoops to download it. I’m sure it’s worth it, but they want a valid cell phone number. I tried putting in a fake one but no dice.

  2. That’s what my wife said. =)
    Thanks, Scott. The first time I followed the link from your FB account and the download was wacky. It left me with no choice but to enter the info to get the download (or…I was just doing it wrong). This time I went right through the blog and it worked just fine. Seeing Roger Waters doing “the Wall” here in Buffalo, soon. Sold out show. Should be interesting. Then Greg Dulli in Cleveland, AND another gig with Band of Horses with Brad opening. Brad has Shawn Smith, of course, and I hear they’re bringing Happy Chichester with them, so that’s 2/3 of the original vocals from “Twilight as Played by”. Would have liked to have met you finally, but that’ll have to wait until a full blown TS tour. Until then, peace! BTW…any update on the solo project?

  3. I think it’s a rite of passage for every rock loving teenager to Discover Pink Floyd. Nothing like getting scared shitless cuz “Comfortably Numb” hit too close to home. Thanks for this.

Leave a Reply

