Off To Blighty

Did I mention I’m the oldest of 4 boys in my family? Of course I didn’t know that until a couple of years ago, but it’s true. My brother Ross is getting married in England next weekend and my Dad bought us tickets about a year ago and told us we were coming, so I guess we are going.


I always have mixed feelings about heading back to England, not the greatest of memories for me, however I feel confident that surrounded by my family I’ll do ok this time. My wife has never been and she’s super excited, I haven’t had the heart to tell her how depressing it is, especially in the Fall. My good friend Duff is playing with his band Loaded over there so we are planning on meeting up and I’m really looking forward to that.

Anyway, I should probably start packing at some point here, apparently we’ll need lots of sweaters. Good times.

The benefit was a resounding success and I thank all of you that came and/or participated, it was beyond my wildest dreams. We made enough to pay off the initial loans but we are still a long way from being able to afford the second operation. I’ve found myself praying a lot recently, a practice I seem to have let slip in the last couple of years. I believe in miracles.

Additionally I seem to be feeling a lot better these days, certainly not firing at 100% but a vast improvement than before the operation, I’d almost forgotten what it felt like to have a good day physically.

I’ll update the blog with pictures and stories in England, let’s hope it’s interesting.

And now this…

3 thoughts on “Off To Blighty

  1. bon voyage!i heard the weather's not as bad as it normally is at that time of yearbut i'd keep the sweaters all the same….

Leave a Reply

