Health Update

I’ve been getting so many emails from people asking me about my health stuff, to the point where it’s a little overwhelming to answer them all, so I thought I’d clarify stuff here rather than reply to every email.


First I want to thank all of you who have so generously donated to help offset the exorbitant costs of my operations, you people are really angels. Very few musicians have good health insurance, most don’t have any, like me, and we live in hope of nothing bad happening to us. Obviously that’s not always the case. My savings have already been wiped out by doctor’s bills, etc., and I have been forced to take out loans to cover the costs of the operations, loans which I have no idea how I’ll pay back.

I am just one of thousands of stories depicting the sorry state of healthcare in America and if it wasn’t for the people donating and helping me out right now I’m not sure where I’d be, so to say I am grateful to you guys is a huge understatement.

As far as what’s going on, I have developed bone loss which has resulted in advanced periodontal disease, which basically means all my teeth have become loose and I have developed infections in my jaw which are life threatening. There is apparently so much poison being pumped into my bloodstream that a heart attack is a matter of when not if.

So you see, I can’t really waver on having this operation. Maybe if I didn’t have a wife and kid I might pretend it’s not happening, but they won’t let me do that.

Apparently it’s been happening for about the last five years, which explains why I feel so tired, sluggish and generally sick most of the time. It’s now reached a critical point.

So next Wednesday I will be having all my teeth removed, something I am totally terrified about, and the doc’s will attempt to remove all the infections in my jaw and thus remove the risk of heart attack. They will fit me with dentures which is both humiliating and painful, they told me that it will take me some time to learn how to eat and talk again. As scared as I am, this operation will save my life so I am trying to look at it as a good thing.

The long-term goal is to get implants to replace the dentures, but at this point the costs are so high it seems like a pie-in-the-sky dream.

So anyway, I probably won’t be around for a while after next week, the recovery is going to take a while, but I’ll be thinking of you guys. Thanks once more to all the hard-working folks out there that are helping me pay for this shit, I really don’t know what I’d do without you.

If you can afford to help out the donate button is up there on the right. I don’t know how I’ll pay all you guys back, but I promise we’ll figure it out.
8 thoughts on “Health Update

  1. You have a lot of people rooting for you–know that we're all thinking of you through this! You are so brave for having the operation! I am sending you good thoughts through all of this hard stuff… hang in there & take care.

  2. My God, Scott, what a fucking trial.If you take this as an exercise in humility and letting go, you may just emerge from this a saint. At the very least, if you can suffer through this with any sort of composure, other shit in life probably won't bother you so much any more.As Mr. Lanegan has sung, "Time takes a while to break you." In Zen we say "Die before you die." Worldly catastrophes are spiritual opportunities, if you lean that way at all. But it's a hard fucking path, man.

  3. Your humiliation will pass quickly because you are a sexy tattooed musician and your wife is fucking hot. And I'm sure you and she will think of situations in which gumming could be useful.heart heart heart

  4. …Tear downthis house. A hundred thousand new housescan be built from the transparent yellow carnelianburied beneath it, and the only way to get to thatis to do the work of demolishing and thendigging under the foundations. With that valuein hand all the new construction will be donewithout effort. And anyway, sooner or later this housewill fall on its own. The jewel treature will beuncovered, but it won't be yours then. The buriedwealth is your pay for doing the demolition, the pick and shovel work. If you wait and justlet it happen, you'd bite your hand and say,"I didn't do as I knew I should have." Thisis a rented house. You don't own the deed.You have a lease, and you've set up a little shop,where you barely make a living sewing patcheson torn clothing. Yet only a few feet underneathare two veins, pure red and bright gold carnelian.Quick! Take the pickaxe and pry the foundation.You've got to quit this seamstress work.What does the patch-sewing mean, you ask. Eatingand drinking. The heavy cloak of the bodyis always getting torn. You patch it with food,and other restless ego-satisfactions. Rip upone board from the shop floor and look intothe basement. You'll see two glints in the dirt.-Rumi

  5. we'll be thinking of you through that, and forget about humiliation, it's overrated anywayyou should be proud you're taking your lives into your hands and make sure you don't live your wife a widow and your kid an orphan…that'll for sure save them some fucking downhill times…..i know most people in this community will do what they can to help, now and later, you can count on usas for what you could do to thank all of us, i guess you'll have to organise a world tour with the twilight singers and stop in every town of every person that helped you outlook at it on the bright side, visiting the world after having been through so much is always soothingfor now, hang on for the operation, take all the time you need to recover and make sure when you start eating again you stop the junkand as renee said, you're a sensible sexy talented rocknroller so the teeth situation will be soon forgotten by all the people that love you…george is sending his good vibes too hang on man

  6. Chocolate Shakes. Seriously.When my dad was not much older than you are now and after years of dentistry cuz BAD teefs run in my family (it's the damned English side I just know it), he got what few he had left pulled and replaced those and his partials with full dentures. He hung out in the La-Z-Boy and lived on chocolate shakes and Extra Strength Tylenol for about a week. No, it was not fun and I would bet he seriously considered breaking his sobriety more than a few times. Yes, he had to figure out how to eat and talk again and it took a good few months to get completely back to normal. Here's the thing….I PROMISE that if he were here today he'd tell you it was worth it. No one knew he had fake teeth unless he told them, he eventually was able to eat everything he wanted including corn on the cob, whole apples and my grandma's amazing popcorn balls. I won't tell you not to be terrified as I personally HATE the dentitst but know that it's worth it. I can attest to that because I've seen the before and after.So next week we'll all be sending good prayers/thoughts/whatevers on your behalf to our respective dieties and/or the universe and we'll be waiting to here all the gory details when you're up to it. Just think of the radio show this will make!

  7. OK, this is one terrible story. Scott, hang in there man! You will pull through.Lesson here for all the kids reading this. Get yourself major medical insurance, might cost you $50 a month? Don't count on any government or anyone else to help you! Best of luck with the surgery dude….

Leave a Reply

