Health Update

I’ve been getting a ton of emails from people asking me how I’m doing health-wise since my prior post. First I want to say a big thank you for the concern, it’s slightly overwhelming but certainly welcome. Second, much has been happening, so here we go.


I have been getting sicker, it involves loss of appetite, a lot of physical pain, tiredness, disorientation, etc. The bone deterioration is unrelenting and as such I have had to make a move. If I continue to wait to have an operation there’s a very good chance of something very serious happening that I won’t be able to bounce back from.

So this week I managed to secure about $10,000 in loans to have the first part of the operation. This is the part that saves my life, this is also the part that is the most painful physically. I’m not going to get into the procedure, but they told me I will have to learn how to talk again, that’s something to look forward to!

I’m scheduled the first week of August, so if I’m not around much then, please excuse me.

I’m not entirely sure how to pay these loans off and keep my life afloat, like for many of you times are tough right now, but I really have no choice. The doctor bills have wiped us out, I’m just being straight with you guys.

I’m not outright asking for donations to offset these medical costs, but if you have a rich uncle that ever enjoyed anything I’ve recorded, etc., feel free to ask him to hit that donate button on the page. One thing I’ve learned in the last 20 years of being clean and sober, I have to put aside pride and ask for help. So that’s what I’m doing.

I know this isn’t very rock n’ roll, and I hope all this frank and open discussion doesn’t come back to bite me on then ass somehow, but I feel like we have somewhat of a community here and I’d want to know if you were having a tough time too.

Thanks for all the love and prayers.

And now this…

20 thoughts on “Health Update

  1. Scott, just take care of yourself. Ok? I'm sure more than a few of us will step up to help…think of it as a repayment to you for all the awesome music you've given us. Be strong :)<3Angel

  2. i don't have a rich uncle unfortunately but i'm sure we will be able to help a littleit's a good thing you've scheduled your first operation, you've got a long way ahead of you but i'm sure you'll be surrounded by good peopletake all the time you need, as you're no good to us dead:)sorry…you take care of yourself man

  3. Learning how to speak…? does this mean you'll swear less now?:-)I wish you all the best of luck. take care man.Guy

  4. Wow, I can't even imagine having to go through that (let alone the money it involves). I'm glad you're taking care of yourself and having the operation as soon as possible–doesn't sound like something you want to mess around with. I will definitely keep you in my thoughts & I hope you'll keep us updated. Take good care.Alannah

  5. I continue to be up against a wall financially but AS SOON as my finances stabilize I will donate.And I have never heard of anything like this. When did you first start getting symptoms? When were you first diagnosed? I hope to God you've gotten a second and third opinion about this before deciding to go through with expensive operations that require you to re-learn the ability to talk. Even doctors with the best intentions sometimes don't know what the fuck they're doing and come up with off-the-wall diagnoses or treatments. I would make sure there was absolutely no alternative before jumping off the deep end with this!!

  6. I, too, faced a major surgery and HUGE financial fears, all while in recovery. Felt like my whole life was thrown off course. Definitely not what I had planned. My experience is that the fear didn't kill me, the pain didn't either! I had to ask for specific help from others and was carried thru the experience by them and a power greater than myself. Two years later, I cant believe I went through it all and have actually found blessings that I never would have imagined. Your path is being altered, but I know good is to come from it. You will be taken care of, even if you can't figure out how!

  7. You can always have surgery and then file for bankruptcy. I know it sounds shitty but people do it all the time. May not make you part of the solution but it sure helps with the bills. Maybe if we could get decent health care coverage for all you wouldn't be in this spot. More importantly, of course, is I hope you are better soon.-Jess

  8. Jeez Scott. What exactly is the diagnosis? And my prayers–er, whatever the Zen Buddhist equivalent of prayers are–are with you.Jess is smart. Filing bankruptcy might be your best bet if this is just too unmanageable a financial burden. It's not as horrible an option as it seems if you've got no other, I know from some loved ones having had to make that decision. Financial life is restricted for a while, but is stable and manageable.But then maybe we fans can figure something out, and get people to be more generous in donating to your personal medical fund than they've been in donating to the station :PEveryone on that damn board better give somethin'. Even if it's five dollars.

  9. Scott, there's nothing MORE rock and roll than taking other people's money. That said, I think the bankruptcy option sounds the most feasible.Are there residency issues affecting the kind of medical care you can receive? Just curious.As cheesy as it sounds, you're in our prayers.

  10. Fuck, Scott. I'm very sorry to read about your current and upcoming struggle, but I know you're up for it. I hope you find a bit of a respite during your dates with Susan. Stand tall.

  11. When it's all said and done you'll be better than ever. Will you still have an accent after you relearn to speak? Joking aside, sending good vibes your way.

  12. Maybe if Scott lives in the South while he's re-learning how to speak he'll end up with a Southern accent :DAnd Scott, I hope that for the $10,000 you're paying they throw in a free week of 'maidens feeding you grapes and bathing you in milk and honey' service as part of the recuperation process.

  13. Scott, I'm so sorry to hear about the ordeal you are experiencing. It's a tough thing to have to worry about finances when you should only be focused on getting well. I hope you are able to stay positive, and that you come through the surgery and recovery with flying colors! You are in my thoughts. Much love…

  14. I'm really sorry to hear about this. Hang in there – we'll all be here when you are ready to get the show started again.Get better soon. You need to get out with the Twilight Singers next year – it wouldn't be the same without you!

  15. Jesus, Scott. Will contribute when I can. Feel better. Trying to make Susan Marshall show tonight, but depends on work. Tried getting tix through Hotel Cafe's site, but no dice– tickets still "TBA."

Leave a Reply

