The Big Show This Thursday

Well folks it’s the final show of 2008 this Thursday at 1pm PST, so it’s only fitting that Greg Dulli and my brother Alex will be co-hosting with me. If you have questions for Greg you can email me and please title your email ‘Question For Greg‘ so I don’t miss it.

Of course we’ll be playing games and spinning some of our favorite tracks of 2008, it really was a great year for music. I’d love to hear what your top 5 songs were of 2008 in the comments, I’ll definitely be picking some of your choices to play on air.

It’s been such an amazing year, we’ll have lots to talk about on the show. Also, you should get Skype if you don’t have it so you can chat with us live on air, and we’ll need a volunteer to go head to head in a special game with Mr. Dulli.

So tune in Thursday, we can’t promise a podcast so make sure you tune in live. And now this…

32 thoughts on “The Big Show This Thursday

  1. I’m Ready!~…should be the highlight of SFR this year. Where should we input our fav tunes for the year? or will you be taking requests? Thanks for putting this together and cant wait til Thursday!!

  2. Oh sweet Jesus, I hope that a guy calls in for that special game with Dulli. We just do not need to hear squealing, panting, giggling, dead air, or “excuse me while I go change my panties” for fifteen minutes. Or maybe I should just shut up and speak for myself…unless the game is “Goodfellas Trivia,” in which case it’s on, motherfuckers. I’d take on Dulli, God, or Scorcese himself for that one.

  3. i can’t believe i might not be around….please misssdrivel or someone make a podcast just in case….so….the top 5:moonland—nick caveseven stories underground—-you know who:)spanish doors—same againcloser—kings of leonle temps des cerises—-noir désiras for the games, if you love your listeners, just throw in a rock band anagram and officially name grant on the board:)i’m so reconsidering all my plans for thursday……

  4. 1. Each to Each – Gutter Twins2. DLZ – TV on the Radio3. Talk Like That – The Presets4. Grounds for Divorce – Elbow5. Bonafied Lovin’ – Chromeo

  5. Damn, it’s very hard to pick just 5 songs”Family Tree” – TV on the Radio”Disturbia” – Rihanna”White Winter Hymnal” – Fleet Foxes”You! Me! Dancing!” – Los Campesinos!”Skinny Love” – Bon Iver

  6. cant believe im gonna miss this, as its my fuckin 30th birthday & im out on the piss,if someone can record this as a birthday present id be eternally grateful..here's my top 51. Down The Line – GT2. Underneath The Stars – The Cure3. Love Is Noise – The Verve4. Skinny Love – Bon Iver5. The'59 Sound – The Gaslight Anthem

  7. deus – sloweverlast – stone in my handtindersticks – yesterdays tomorrowsgutter twins – each to eacheditors – an end has a start (was it 2007? whatever, its brilliant!)

  8. Call in??!In that case, I retract my bid for volunteer entirely and am with Karen: let’s have Grant and some type of anagram game.So happy I have no appts this Thursday!

  9. In no particular order:Down the Line~Triple Door ensembleFront Street~Gutter TwinsSex on Fire~KIngs of LeonCath~DCFCOut in the Woods~Buddy Guy

  10. As much as I really want to hear this – there is no way I'm getting out of my Thursday afternoon meetings. Not even for SFR. So, I have to be a good girl and wait for a podcast. I'm sure someone will have it. Right!?Top 5 for 2008-Down The Line – GD at Triple DoorDLZ – TV on the RadioBetter Things – Passion PitLie Down Here (& Be My Girl) – Nick Cave & The Bad SeedsAimee Mann – Freeway

  11. I’m having a lot of fun making this list – it’s taken me an hour so far – and I’m surprised at how much good stuff came out this year, in retrospect!

  12. TV on the Radio – Shout Me Out / Crying / Golden Age / Red DressTiny Echoes – Tuesday, Before Dawn (Part 1) / Tuesday, Before Dawn (Part 2) / Their VoicesQ-Tip – Shaka / Gettin Up / Official / MoveRaconteurs – Carolina DreamBlack Crowes – Oh Josephine / Goodbye Daughters of the RevolutionBlack Keys – Strange TimesGutter Twins – Flow Like a River / Down the Line / The Stations / Front StreetDave Rosser – Workingman’s BluesGreg Dulli – Tell Everyone / That’s Just How That Bird SingsQueens of the Stone Age – Into the Hollow / River in the Road / Era Vulgaris / Goin’ Out WestMetallica from a live bootleg 5-17-08 @ Irvine – Master of PuppetsMike Patton – A Little Poker Tomorrow Night?Bob Mould – Who Needs to Dream?Breeders – Bang On

  13. Gutter Twins – All Misery/FlowersNick Cave and the Bad Seeds – Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!!Mark Lanegan and Isobel Campbell – Who Built the RoadJerusalem – Sweet ChariotTV on the Radio – Love DogFleet Foxes – White Winter HymnalGnarls Barkley – Who’s Gonna Save My Soul

  14. Ok over the limit girls!Asaf Avidan~Her Lies/Devils DanceRaconteursTV on the RadioBlack CrowesRadioheadGutter twins~all of Saturnalia and Adorata!

  15. Can’t wait for the show on Thursday!Here are my top 5 songs of 2008:Front Street – The Gutter TwinsThings Ain’t Like They Used To Be -The Black KeysElectric Feel – MGMTI Lust U – Neon NeonThe Rip – Portishead

  16. in no particular orderSex on fire – kings of leonfronstreet – gutter twinselectric feel – MGMTdown the line – Greg Dulli at tripple doorGuitar hero – amanda palmer

  17. Ok over the limit girls!Meh, five’s not enough.Scott can just pick which ones he actually wants to play… which is what he was going to do anyway 😉

  18. The Gutter Twins – The StationsBarry Adamson – The Beaten Side of TownWhite Denim – Paint Silver GoldThe Jim Jones Revue – RocknRoll PsychosisScars on Broadway – They Say.

  19. I can count.1) Crying – TV on the Radio2) Skinny Love – Bon Iver3)Gobbledigook – Sigur Ros4) God’s Children – GT5) Willow Tree – Chad VanGalen

  20. We now interrupt all this list making for a moment of anguish…Fuck, fuck, fuck, fuckity, fucking fuck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!It was gonna be perfect. Off-site meetings all afternoon for the boss, leaving me alone with my SFR. They’ve all been cancelled and now she’ll be in the office making my Thursday miserable.(sigh)

  21. Dre, that is serious bad news. I’m sorry.Forgot my “five”:GT: “All Misery/Flowers” or “I Was in Love With You”; covers of “Belles” and “Down the Line”GD: Anything off of the Triple Door, but especially “Isn’t It a Pity/Atlantis”Fleet Foxes: “White Winter Hymnal”Radiohead: “All I Need” and “Reckoner”There are more I can’t think of but I’m done.

  22. Greg Dulli – The KillerGutter Twins – Front StreetTiny Echoes – Hospital BedRyan Adams – Fix ItMercury Rev – Snowflake…:)

  23. Can't narrow it down so here's my (short)listDown The Line – The Gutter TwinsUse Somebody – Kings of LeonI'm Outta Time – OasisSweet Chariot – JerusalemIdle Hands – The Gutter TwinsHurrican Jane – Black KidsMountains – Biffy ClyroThey Were Wrong – Matthew RyanIn This City – Iglu & HartlyKids – MGMTJust for Tonight – One Night OnlyUptown – Primal ScreamThat's Not My Name – The Ting TingsLove Is Noise – The VerveFalling Down – OasisAmy MacDonald – CaledoniaViolet Hill – ColdplayNot nineteen forever – The CourteenersL.E.S Artistes – SantogoldYou're My Star – Stereophonics

  24. Hmmm.The Black Angels: Science KillerSaul Williams: Scared MoneyGutter Twins: Front StreetEverest: Rebel in the RosesMudhoney: I’m Now

  25. I’ll be there! Sounds like an epic show.Here are my favourites of the year:The Felice Brothers – Frankie’s GunFleet Foxes – Ragged WoodMicah P. Hinson – When We EmbracedConor Oberst – Souled OutHorse Feathers – Working PoorThe Gunshy – The Darling DaysBlack Mountain – AngelsThe Tallest Man On Earth – Pistol DreamsThe Hold Steady – Lord, I’m DiscouragedOld Crow Medicine Show – MethamphetamineThe War On Drugs – Arms like Boulders

  26. grinderman – vortextv on the radio – halfway homerodrigo & gabriela – diablo rojonick cave – lie down hereraconteurs – carolina dramaany order will do thank you very much 🙂

Leave a Reply

