Joe Strummer I Miss You

So last night I stayed up and ordered the Julian Temple documentary about Joe Strummer, The Future Is Unwritten, on TV. Simply put, by the end of it I was exhilarated, sad and happy all at the same time.

Joe Strummer was one of the few people that shaped how I saw the world, his influence on me was huge, and as a little kid I worshiped him.

I really can’t recommend this documentary enough, it is a brilliant piece of work by Temple (who also did the Sex Pistols documentary The Filth and the Fury), comprised or rare archive footage and interviews. In fact I was so moved that around 5am I jumped on the radio and broadcast a Joe Strummer set to the 20 or so people listening in at that hour.

Having lived through that era, sometimes I am skeptical of documentaries that glamorize what was happening during the punk years, but Temple has this wonderful knack of just telling the story in an unbiased fashion and he did an excellent job with this.

I really do miss Joe, his last ever California show that I was lucky enough to be at was simply put the best show I have ever seen in my life, and trust me I’ve seen a lot. God bless you Joe and thanks so much for changing my world.

MP3: Joe Strummer – Pressure Drop (live)
MP3: Joe Strummer – Minstrell Boy
MP3: The 101’ers – Keys To Your Heart

Leave a Reply

